JAN 2007 - Retired East Boston District
Court Judge Domenic L. Russo has been voted to a five-year term as the chairman
of the Public Employee Retirement Administration Commission (PERAC), the
Commonwealth’s top pension agency. The unanimous vote came at a November 1
meeting of the Commission.


In May 2004
the Commissioners had voted to appoint Russo as chairman to fill the unexpired
term of Chairman Bob Tierney, a then-Civil Service Commissioner, who resigned
to become director of the Boston Retirement Board.

Machado Reappointed

October 30, two days earlier than the Russo vote, Commissioner Jim Machado was
appointed by Governor Romney to a new five-year term as the public safety
representative on the commission. Machado is a Fall River police sergeant and a
legislative representative of the Mass. Police Association which had endorsed
Kerry Healey for governor.

Seven Commissioners

state agency created in 1996, overseas the 106 retirement systems in the
Commonwealth. The agency is directed by seven unpaid commissioners. In addition
to Chairman Russo and Commissioner Machado, the other five Commissioners are: State
Auditor Joe DeNucci (represented by Deputy Auditor John Parsons); Ken Donnelly,
a Lexington firefighter (the AFL-CIO designee) appointed by the State Auditor: Donald
Marquis, retired Arlington town manager who is currently serving as a Civil
Service commissioner (the MMA designee appointed by the State Auditor);
Governor’s designee Carlos DeSantis and Governor’s designee Henry Brauer.

Joe Connarton,
who is PERAC’s executive director, oversees a staff of 40 employees which
includes attorneys, auditors, actuarial analysts, case managers, fraud
investigators and investment analysts. Joe Martin is PERAC’s deputy executive
director and Kevin Blanchette is deputy executive director of operations.